Nestled in the heart of Clarksville, this historic, classic Victorian was originally built in 1876 for a local judge and his family by Texas Architects Jacob Lamour and Charles Wheelock. In 1897, an extensive remodel replaced original wood siding with special imported Chicago brick, mahogany paneling throughout the interior, a new underground cistern and a grand staircase salvaged from a mansion that burned in the Chicago fires.
With dual expertise in historic restoration and contemporary design, new owners hired Clayton & Little to renovate the existing structure, and to design the 4,000 square foot addition including a kitchen, living space, garage, game room and pool composed of sleek blackened Shou Sugi Ban siding, large custom steel windows, and limestone flooring. Meticulously detailed interiors by Joel Mozersky Design with abstract wallpaper, custom light fixtures, and an array of eclectic furniture reflect the new owners’ contemporary sensibility.
Architecture: Clayton & Little
Interior Design: Joel Mozersky Design
Landscape Architect: Word + Carr Design Group
General Contractor: Burnish & Plumb